Google Docs email phishing scam

Yesterday (5/3/2017) we started getting reports that users were receiving an email, usually from someone they know, inviting them to a shared Google Doc with a link to the Doc. If the link was clicked the user was brought to their Google account and asked for permissions to their email account and contacts. If access was allowed, the email would then be sent to all those list in their contacts. At this point no other malicious activity has been reported. Google says they shut down this third party app (called Google Docs) within an hour of learning about it.

If you received the email, and if you followed the link and allowed access, we would advise to change your Google account password and you need to revoke access to the Google Docs connected app.

To revoke permissions, visit your account page here: https://myaccount.google.com/permissions and look for Google Docs in the list. Click on it, and choose Remove, then Ok. Or follow along with this video on how to log in and check your account.

And as always, don’t forgot to practice safe email procedures.

  • Never open an attachment or click a link in an email from someone you don’t know
  • If you receive an email with links or attachments from someone you do know, stop and question it. Even if you were expecting something. Verify from them this was intentionally sent

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this, please contact us right away for support.

Posted in Information and tagged , , .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.